Modest Mouse review-Boulder Colorado

sinkSo I went to see Modest Mouse at the field house in CU Boulder. My friend Jen got me a ticket for my birthday, so we made the trip down to Boulder last night. We went to the Sink for dinner and drinks before the show. The Sink is a cool bar, with good food. That was the highlight of our night, seriously.

After dinner we made it over to the Field house in the middle of the college campus.  We were not aware that there were 2 opening acts, so we got there at 8. First bad thing, they were not selling beer! And there is no where to sit in this field house-its just a long place with a track around it. So we made our way towards the front. The first band was ok, they looked very young- but they were ok. I did not catch their name. The second band was young also, and very serious. I dont think they ever told us their name. They reminded me of My Morning Jacket. They were good, but the music was pretty slow, and standing there for an hour and a half in a hot sweaty field house was getting real old real quick. Especially since we could not even get a cold beer. LAME!!

modest_mouse

Modest Mouse made us wait at least 45 mintues before they came on stage. The crowd was booing everytime another “filler song” started. It was getting ridiculous really. It reminded me of the time I saw Metallica with Guns and Roses back in the early 90’s. Metallica put on a great show, then GnR made the crowd wait for at least 2 hours. When they finally came on stage, Axel Rose sang one song, got pissed off – threw the microphone and stormed off stage. Slash ended up singing after that. I left at that point, as did most of the people in the crowd.

So anyways, back to Modest Mouse. First let me tell you I have been a fan of theirs since I discovered them about 5 years ago. I have all of their CD’s and I have seen them in concert now 5 times. The first two times I saw them, at the Fillmore in Denver, they were awesome. Put on a really great show. The last 2 times I have seen them now I have been VERY disappointed. I saw them at Red Rocks about 2 summers ago, and Issaac Brock, the lead singer/guitar player, went off on some tangent about something, he came across as a crazy man to me. I did not enjoy them at all at Red Rocks. I had high hopes last night though, as I made my way to Boulder. I was hoping that night at Red Rocks was just an off night. They hit the stage last night starting off real strong, but in the middle of the 1st song, Issaac knocked his microphone stand over, almost flung his guitar off of him and was yelling “fuck you” to someone in the crowd. I was near the front, and did not see anyone doing anything that could have pissed him off, but whatever, it was entertaining. They played “Doing the Cockroach” which sounded pretty good. They played “Paper thin walls” too. Between each song, Issaac was hugging and talking to the other guitar player, and it seemed to take about 10  minutes in between each song, and people were getting irritated. It sucked standing there for that long, then having him jack around on stage instead of playing music! After about the 2nd or 3rd song, it seemed like he was playing something other than the rest of the band was playing, and the other members of the band were looking at him very concerned. It was very sad. I dont know if Issaac is just crazy or on drugs, but something is definetly off with him and it  is so sad. We left after the 4th ten minute break between songs.  We just couldnt watch it anymore. I hope that he gets help, he is a briallant singer, songwriter, guitarist.

~ by jldono2 on March 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
